elpher.git
13 months agoShow IRIs when no display text is available
Alex Schroeder [Tue, 10 Aug 2021 17:16:33 +0000 (19:16 +0200)]
Show IRIs when no display text is available

When using the URL in a Gemini link-line as a display-string, turn it
into an IRI.

13 months agoFixed imenu caching bug.
plugd [Tue, 10 Aug 2021 20:20:59 +0000 (22:20 +0200)]
Fixed imenu caching bug.

13 months agoMerged Alex's gemini link line filling.
plugd [Tue, 10 Aug 2021 09:49:10 +0000 (11:49 +0200)]
Merged Alex's gemini link line filling.

13 months agoBetter handling of default URL schemes.
plugd [Tue, 10 Aug 2021 09:36:00 +0000 (11:36 +0200)]
Better handling of default URL schemes.

13 months agoFixed gopher type predicate function.
plugd [Tue, 10 Aug 2021 07:50:10 +0000 (09:50 +0200)]
Fixed gopher type predicate function.

13 months agoCan now open gophermap files with file:.
plugd [Mon, 9 Aug 2021 14:45:23 +0000 (16:45 +0200)]
Can now open gophermap files with file:.

13 months agoFill links
Alex Schroeder [Tue, 3 Aug 2021 13:15:58 +0000 (15:15 +0200)]
Fill links

Currently unhappy about it because fill-prefix is hard-coded to three
spaces since that's the apparent width of "→ " (possibly font
related?).

13 months agoFixed match data clobbering introduced by previous commit.
plugd [Mon, 9 Aug 2021 08:38:04 +0000 (10:38 +0200)]
Fixed match data clobbering introduced by previous commit.

13 months agoMerged Alex's IRI support, with tiny changes.
plugd [Mon, 9 Aug 2021 08:16:38 +0000 (10:16 +0200)]
Merged Alex's IRI support, with tiny changes.

14 months agoCleaning up.
plugd [Wed, 4 Aug 2021 14:37:28 +0000 (16:37 +0200)]
Cleaning up.

14 months agoAdd IRI support
Alex Schroeder [Wed, 4 Aug 2021 14:27:17 +0000 (16:27 +0200)]
Add IRI support

When getting the address of a URL, use the current scheme as URL type,
if one exists. If no scheme is provided for a URL, the current context
specifies the scheme to use, so if we’re looking at a gemini page,
then the default type is "gemini" even if elpher-default-url-type is
"gopher".

When creating the display-string for a page from a URL, use a new
functino that creates an IRI instead. It decodes percent-escapes and
handles punycode in the host name. It also hides the password, if any,
since that's what RFC 3986 says we should do.

When getting the display-string of a Gemini link line without a text,
do the same: don't just use the URL, use the corresponding IRI,
decoding percent-escapes and handling punycode in the host name.

When getting the URL of a Gemini link line, do the reverse: if this is
an IRI instead of a URI, use punycode for the host; percent-escaping
is already handled by url-generic-parse-url.

14 months agoBug fix in gemini path normalization code.
plugd [Wed, 4 Aug 2021 13:58:19 +0000 (15:58 +0200)]
Bug fix in gemini path normalization code.

14 months agoOpened an issue.
plugd [Wed, 4 Aug 2021 12:01:22 +0000 (14:01 +0200)]
Opened an issue.

14 months agoVersion bump. v3.2.2
plugd [Wed, 4 Aug 2021 09:17:51 +0000 (11:17 +0200)]
Version bump.

14 months agoBug fix: elpher-go was erroring out when elpher wasn't already open.
plugd [Wed, 4 Aug 2021 09:14:52 +0000 (11:14 +0200)]
Bug fix: elpher-go was erroring out when elpher wasn't already open.

14 months agoBookmarks link on main page now a regular page link.
plugd [Tue, 3 Aug 2021 12:24:11 +0000 (14:24 +0200)]
Bookmarks link on main page now a regular page link.

14 months agoURLs now unhexed and decoded prior to use as display strings.
plugd [Tue, 3 Aug 2021 10:43:21 +0000 (12:43 +0200)]
URLs now unhexed and decoded prior to use as display strings.

14 months agoAlex's elegant fix for the newline styling issue.
plugd [Tue, 3 Aug 2021 10:00:11 +0000 (12:00 +0200)]
Alex's elegant fix for the newline styling issue.

14 months agoSanitize display strings for use in header.
plugd [Tue, 3 Aug 2021 08:09:39 +0000 (10:09 +0200)]
Sanitize display strings for use in header.

14 months agoSwitched to window-body-* for getting window dimensions.
plugd [Tue, 3 Aug 2021 07:43:38 +0000 (09:43 +0200)]
Switched to window-body-* for getting window dimensions.

14 months agoImproved image rendering: fix max-height
Alex Schroeder [Tue, 3 Aug 2021 07:21:24 +0000 (09:21 +0200)]
Improved image rendering: fix max-height

window-pixel-height's return value includes the mode line and header
line and the bottom divider, if any. In order for the image to fit
exactly, we therefore subtract window-header-line-height,
window-mode-line-height window, window-scroll-bar-height window, and
window-bottom-divider-width.

14 months agotext/gemini formatting improvements.
plugd [Mon, 2 Aug 2021 12:31:56 +0000 (14:31 +0200)]
text/gemini formatting improvements.

14 months agoVersion bump. v3.2.1
plugd [Mon, 2 Aug 2021 09:40:09 +0000 (11:40 +0200)]
Version bump.

14 months agoBug fix: elpher-ipv4-only wasn't being respected.
plugd [Mon, 2 Aug 2021 09:38:42 +0000 (11:38 +0200)]
Bug fix: elpher-ipv4-only wasn't being respected.

14 months agoChanged wording re local gophermap files. v3.2.0
plugd [Mon, 2 Aug 2021 08:24:15 +0000 (10:24 +0200)]
Changed wording re local gophermap files.

14 months agoVersion bump.
plugd [Mon, 2 Aug 2021 08:07:29 +0000 (10:07 +0200)]
Version bump.

14 months agoUpdated news section of manual.
plugd [Mon, 2 Aug 2021 08:05:59 +0000 (10:05 +0200)]
Updated news section of manual.

14 months agoRemoved superfluous function, better bm error handling.
plugd [Mon, 2 Aug 2021 07:52:59 +0000 (09:52 +0200)]
Removed superfluous function, better bm error handling.

14 months agoUpdated manual, working on news section.
plugd [Sun, 1 Aug 2021 21:54:48 +0000 (23:54 +0200)]
Updated manual, working on news section.

14 months agoDelinting.
plugd [Sun, 1 Aug 2021 21:54:15 +0000 (23:54 +0200)]
Delinting.

14 months ago"Special" pages are now referred to as "about" pages.
plugd [Sun, 1 Aug 2021 15:23:40 +0000 (17:23 +0200)]
"Special" pages are now referred to as "about" pages.

Also fixes some encoding and relative link issues with "file:", as
well as making the "about:bookmarks" getter responsible for all of
the logic re opening the bookmarks page.

14 months agoFixed up special page predicate and associated tests.
plugd [Sat, 31 Jul 2021 12:42:12 +0000 (14:42 +0200)]
Fixed up special page predicate and associated tests.

14 months agoMade start page configurable.
plugd [Sat, 31 Jul 2021 12:03:48 +0000 (14:03 +0200)]
Made start page configurable.

14 months agoMerge branch 'master' into about-pages
plugd [Sat, 31 Jul 2021 11:44:12 +0000 (13:44 +0200)]
Merge branch 'master' into about-pages

14 months agoPrevent elpher-go* interpreting empty input.
plugd [Sat, 31 Jul 2021 10:27:31 +0000 (12:27 +0200)]
Prevent elpher-go* interpreting empty input.

14 months agoSpeed up rendering of large gemini pages.
plugd [Fri, 30 Jul 2021 22:20:49 +0000 (00:20 +0200)]
Speed up rendering of large gemini pages.

14 months agoAdd declaration to avoid compiler warning.
plugd [Fri, 30 Jul 2021 22:20:01 +0000 (00:20 +0200)]
Add declaration to avoid compiler warning.

14 months agoReified special pages using "about:" pseudo-type.
plugd [Fri, 30 Jul 2021 19:55:37 +0000 (21:55 +0200)]
Reified special pages using "about:" pseudo-type.

14 months agoSet default max width and height of images.
plugd [Fri, 30 Jul 2021 12:35:44 +0000 (14:35 +0200)]
Set default max width and height of images.

14 months agoAdded Abhiseck Paira to the list of contributors.
plugd [Thu, 29 Jul 2021 11:22:05 +0000 (13:22 +0200)]
Added Abhiseck Paira to the list of contributors.

14 months agoMerge.
plugd [Thu, 29 Jul 2021 10:08:05 +0000 (12:08 +0200)]
Merge.

14 months agolet elpher handle gemini, gopher links in eww buffer
Abhiseck Paira [Thu, 29 Jul 2021 07:08:46 +0000 (12:38 +0530)]
let elpher handle gemini, gopher links in eww buffer

In a eww buffer, clicking on gemini, gopher, finger links will give
error "Unknown url scheme" as eww would try to open it itself.

Eww calls browse-url if a link matches regexp as defined in
`eww-use-browse-url' variable. Elpher has already defined
`elpher-browse-url-elpher' handler to handle gemini links, so browse-url
would open those links in elpher appropriately.

14 months agoVersion bump. v3.1.0
plugd [Wed, 28 Jul 2021 19:34:46 +0000 (21:34 +0200)]
Version bump.

14 months agoReplaced eval-with-clean-buffer debug declaration.
plugd [Wed, 28 Jul 2021 19:26:08 +0000 (21:26 +0200)]
Replaced eval-with-clean-buffer debug declaration.

14 months agoReplaced missing check for elpher bookmark handler.
plugd [Wed, 28 Jul 2021 19:00:27 +0000 (21:00 +0200)]
Replaced missing check for elpher bookmark handler.

14 months agoFixed indenting of history page headers.
plugd [Wed, 28 Jul 2021 11:17:57 +0000 (13:17 +0200)]
Fixed indenting of history page headers.

14 months agoDelinting, fixed indenting in start page.
plugd [Wed, 28 Jul 2021 09:51:08 +0000 (11:51 +0200)]
Delinting, fixed indenting in start page.

14 months agoUpdated manual.
plugd [Tue, 27 Jul 2021 20:01:22 +0000 (22:01 +0200)]
Updated manual.

14 months agoAnother text correction.
plugd [Tue, 27 Jul 2021 16:35:25 +0000 (18:35 +0200)]
Another text correction.

14 months agoSpelling correction.
plugd [Tue, 27 Jul 2021 16:33:30 +0000 (18:33 +0200)]
Spelling correction.

14 months agoAdded missing call to bookmark-maybe-load-default-file.
plugd [Tue, 27 Jul 2021 14:13:30 +0000 (16:13 +0200)]
Added missing call to bookmark-maybe-load-default-file.

14 months agoSimplified bookmark page code: thanks Alex!
plugd [Tue, 27 Jul 2021 13:51:40 +0000 (15:51 +0200)]
Simplified bookmark page code: thanks Alex!

14 months agoChanged some wording on bookmark page.
plugd [Tue, 27 Jul 2021 12:29:39 +0000 (14:29 +0200)]
Changed some wording on bookmark page.

14 months agoMerge.
plugd [Tue, 27 Jul 2021 12:19:27 +0000 (14:19 +0200)]
Merge.

14 months agoBetter grouping of text processing procedures.
plugd [Tue, 27 Jul 2021 12:18:47 +0000 (14:18 +0200)]
Better grouping of text processing procedures.

14 months agoCleaned up elpher bookmark page, made optional.
plugd [Tue, 27 Jul 2021 12:07:33 +0000 (14:07 +0200)]
Cleaned up elpher bookmark page, made optional.

14 months agoFiddling with bookmarks display.
plugd [Tue, 27 Jul 2021 10:01:14 +0000 (12:01 +0200)]
Fiddling with bookmarks display.

14 months agoOpened issue re timer.
plugd [Mon, 26 Jul 2021 20:14:51 +0000 (22:14 +0200)]
Opened issue re timer.

14 months agoPlay better with bookmark-bmenu-other-window.
plugd [Mon, 26 Jul 2021 19:09:05 +0000 (21:09 +0200)]
Play better with bookmark-bmenu-other-window.

Previous implementation of elpher-bookmark-jump was not
acting properly as a bookmark-handler function, resulting
in strange behaviour.

14 months agoStop xterm-color from removing text properties.
plugd [Mon, 26 Jul 2021 14:56:06 +0000 (16:56 +0200)]
Stop xterm-color from removing text properties.

14 months agoMerge remote-tracking branch 'origin/patch_compiler_warning'
plugd [Mon, 26 Jul 2021 08:22:16 +0000 (10:22 +0200)]
Merge remote-tracking branch 'origin/patch_compiler_warning'

14 months agoAdded news+acknowledgements to manual. v3.0.0
plugd [Sun, 25 Jul 2021 15:16:42 +0000 (17:16 +0200)]
Added news+acknowledgements to manual.

14 months agoMake byte-compiler happy again
Étienne Deparis [Sun, 25 Jul 2021 14:17:40 +0000 (16:17 +0200)]
Make byte-compiler happy again

Also alphabetically sort function and variable names

14 months agoSolved timer issue for socks and non-socks connections.
plugd [Sun, 25 Jul 2021 13:26:19 +0000 (15:26 +0200)]
Solved timer issue for socks and non-socks connections.

14 months agoCleanup.
plugd [Sat, 24 Jul 2021 21:05:08 +0000 (23:05 +0200)]
Cleanup.

14 months agoPrevent corruption of ansi interpreter state.
plugd [Sat, 24 Jul 2021 20:59:18 +0000 (22:59 +0200)]
Prevent corruption of ansi interpreter state.

14 months agoMoved variable closer to use.
plugd [Sat, 24 Jul 2021 20:59:01 +0000 (22:59 +0200)]
Moved variable closer to use.

14 months agoFixed rogue connection timer issue.
plugd [Sat, 24 Jul 2021 20:08:00 +0000 (22:08 +0200)]
Fixed rogue connection timer issue.

14 months agoRemoved unused regexp and fixed spelling error.
plugd [Sat, 24 Jul 2021 20:07:33 +0000 (22:07 +0200)]
Removed unused regexp and fixed spelling error.

14 months agoUpdated bookmarks section of manual.
plugd [Fri, 23 Jul 2021 13:35:24 +0000 (15:35 +0200)]
Updated bookmarks section of manual.

14 months agoAdded automatic importing of legacy bookmarks files.
plugd [Fri, 23 Jul 2021 13:26:11 +0000 (15:26 +0200)]
Added automatic importing of legacy bookmarks files.

14 months agoImproved behaviour of history-all/visited-pages.
plugd [Fri, 23 Jul 2021 12:29:57 +0000 (14:29 +0200)]
Improved behaviour of history-all/visited-pages.

14 months ago(Temporarily?) removed link numbering code.
plugd [Fri, 23 Jul 2021 08:31:27 +0000 (10:31 +0200)]
(Temporarily?) removed link numbering code.

14 months agoREADME edit.
plugd [Fri, 23 Jul 2021 08:17:44 +0000 (10:17 +0200)]
README edit.

14 months agoUpdated issues file.
plugd [Fri, 23 Jul 2021 08:12:52 +0000 (10:12 +0200)]
Updated issues file.

14 months agoBack to original g,o,O bindings.
plugd [Thu, 22 Jul 2021 14:23:31 +0000 (16:23 +0200)]
Back to original g,o,O bindings.

14 months agoEmphasise Alex's contributions in the README.
plugd [Thu, 22 Jul 2021 10:19:16 +0000 (12:19 +0200)]
Emphasise Alex's contributions in the README.

14 months agoSwitched version number to 3.0.0.
plugd [Thu, 22 Jul 2021 10:14:06 +0000 (12:14 +0200)]
Switched version number to 3.0.0.

14 months agoMore delinting.
plugd [Thu, 22 Jul 2021 09:20:44 +0000 (11:20 +0200)]
More delinting.

14 months agoReplaced link to bookmarks on start page.
plugd [Thu, 22 Jul 2021 08:32:54 +0000 (10:32 +0200)]
Replaced link to bookmarks on start page.

14 months agoMore de-linting.
plugd [Wed, 21 Jul 2021 22:36:46 +0000 (00:36 +0200)]
More de-linting.

14 months agoImproved keybinding compatibility between evil/non-evil.
plugd [Wed, 21 Jul 2021 21:36:51 +0000 (23:36 +0200)]
Improved keybinding compatibility between evil/non-evil.

14 months agoRefactored and expanded link factoring to apply to non-gemini pages.
plugd [Wed, 21 Jul 2021 20:08:59 +0000 (22:08 +0200)]
Refactored and expanded link factoring to apply to non-gemini pages.

14 months agoSome linting.
plugd [Wed, 21 Jul 2021 16:49:09 +0000 (18:49 +0200)]
Some linting.

14 months agoMerge patches curated by Alex.
plugd [Wed, 21 Jul 2021 16:19:51 +0000 (18:19 +0200)]
Merge patches curated by Alex.

14 months agoFixed bugs introduced by last commit.
plugd [Tue, 20 Jul 2021 15:20:07 +0000 (17:20 +0200)]
Fixed bugs introduced by last commit.

14 months agoMisplaced url-unhex was causing trouble.
plugd [Mon, 19 Jul 2021 17:15:41 +0000 (19:15 +0200)]
Misplaced url-unhex was causing trouble.

14 months agoVersion bump. v2.10.3
plugd [Sun, 18 Jul 2021 17:52:06 +0000 (19:52 +0200)]
Version bump.

14 months agoAdded edebug specification for a macro.
plugd [Sun, 18 Jul 2021 17:50:54 +0000 (19:50 +0200)]
Added edebug specification for a macro.

14 months agoHeader-wrapping code was broken for terminal emacs.
plugd [Sun, 18 Jul 2021 17:50:26 +0000 (19:50 +0200)]
Header-wrapping code was broken for terminal emacs.

14 months agoReplaced GUS link with geminispace.info link.
plugd [Fri, 16 Jul 2021 14:45:17 +0000 (16:45 +0200)]
Replaced GUS link with geminispace.info link.

14 months agoAdd history documentation to the info manual
Alex Schroeder [Mon, 12 Jul 2021 06:48:06 +0000 (08:48 +0200)]
Add history documentation to the info manual

Added Daniel Semyonov and Alex Schroeder to the copyright notice.

Removed bookmarks from the Elpher features in the introduction.
Mentioned C-u M-x elpher to create multiple Elpher sessions.

Mentioned the two histories Elpher maintains and document h/H.

14 months agoAdd local and global history menus using h/H history
Alex Schroeder [Sun, 11 Jul 2021 21:10:59 +0000 (23:10 +0200)]
Add local and global history menus using h/H

14 months agoReplace Elpher bookmarks with Emacs bookmarks bookmarks
Alex Schroeder [Tue, 29 Jun 2021 12:33:42 +0000 (14:33 +0200)]
Replace Elpher bookmarks with Emacs bookmarks

The keybindings for x and X disappear. M-x elpher-import-bookmarks
imports the old bookmarks into regular Emacs bookmarks. This deletes
all the old code related to bookmarks! This is a big change.

Update the manual to reflect this.

Add Makefile rules to make HTML and PDF files. Fix the texinfo file.
For the PDF output, we cannot use @kbd inside @keycmd, so the entry
for elpher-prev-link cannot use @keycmd, in order to typeset Shift-TAB
correctly.

14 months agoRevert "Remove an unused local variable"
Alex Schroeder [Wed, 7 Jul 2021 21:26:46 +0000 (23:26 +0200)]
Revert "Remove an unused local variable"

This reverts commit 914f190a3d33214d43d0d1014e65ae022460299b.

fill-prefix is required for adaptive-fill-mode to work correctly when
filling list items that are more than one line.

14 months agoAllow elpher-go to work without an Elpher ebuffer
Alex Schroeder [Tue, 6 Jul 2021 17:31:32 +0000 (19:31 +0200)]
Allow elpher-go to work without an Elpher ebuffer

If elpher-go is the first thing you do, and no *elpher* buffer exists,
you run into an error. Wrapping elpher-visit-page in
elpher-with-clean-buffer fixes this, as this sets up the *elpher*
buffer, and sets elpher-mode.

Alternatively, we could also just set elpher-mode. The key is that we
must do it before elpher-visit-page is called, otherwise this is what
happens: elpher-go → elpher-visit-page → elpher-render-gemini via
elpher-type-map → elpher-render-gemini-map → elpher-with-clean-buffer
which now calls elpher-mode, wiping all the local variables. If,
however, we make sure elpher-mode is active before all of this,
elpher-with-clean-buffer when called from elpher-render-gemini-map
will not call elpher-mode and the local variables remain set.

14 months agoAdd defun to make the start page
Alex Schroeder [Tue, 6 Jul 2021 17:30:44 +0000 (19:30 +0200)]
Add defun to make the start page

Change the two places where a start-page is made to use it.

15 months agoChange browse-url advice for older releases
Alex Schroeder [Fri, 2 Jul 2021 07:31:33 +0000 (09:31 +0200)]
Change browse-url advice for older releases

package does not offer browse-url-default-handlers, but if you set
The code used to advise browse-url-default-browser if your browse-url
browse-url-browser-function to something else, like eww-browse-url,
then that advice did not apply. The code now advises the function set
in the browse-url-browser-function variable, meaning that it should
advise the right function.

Also added a small doc string to the lambda used as advice.

15 months agoSmall documentation fixes
Daniel Semyonov [Wed, 30 Jun 2021 22:47:08 +0000 (01:47 +0300)]
Small documentation fixes

15 months agoAdd missing auto-generated files to .gitignore
Daniel Semyonov [Wed, 30 Jun 2021 23:13:09 +0000 (02:13 +0300)]
Add missing auto-generated files to .gitignore